Welcome to Atlanta

You might say I’m the new guy in town. My wife and I are moving here from New York. I’ve spent the last 10 years working for NBCU in New York. There was something great about working at 30 Rock when I started. But after a few years it kind of wears on you.

Mind you I grew up in NY. But it’s one of those cities where you’re always on. Sometimes you just want to kick back, relax and chill. That can be a little tough in NY. True, it’s the city that never sleeps and you can always find a store open to sell you milk, ice cream, gourmet foods or anthing else you want.

However, I’m fiinding Atlanta has a tremendous amount to offer and I’m really looking forward to it. We’re renting an apartment in the midtown area. It’s just the two of us know. Our oldest son is “off the payroll” and the other one is graduating college this year and will be heading off to grad school. (Je’s going to study Bio Organic Chemistry. He DIDN’T get it from me. My wife has the brains. I work in TV where we often joke “this isn’t brain surgery.)

Many of you may not be familiar with CBS46 TV. My hope and goal is where going to change that.

I hope through this blog to be able to talk about how we select and cover stories. I’ll write about our strategies and the challenges we face as journalists.

This is also your chance to ask me questions, offer suggestions and comment on what we’re doing.

I’ll post the appropriate questions here along with my answers and opions.

So feel free to check in a couple of times a week and provide feedback.

I’m looking forward to it.

 

Steve Schwaid

Director of News and Digital Content

CBS46 News and CBS46.com

Steve.Schwaid@CBS46.Com.

One Response to “Welcome to Atlanta”

  1. Will Says:

    From New york, I thought as much. I am in Atlanta for 30 plus years now originally from the midwest. Welcome. But if you are going to be useful here you need to get yourself a good library of Lewis Grizzard and Ludlow Porch performances. I have spent a good deal of time in Manhattan and contrary to what you may have been taught, the earth does not revolve around NYC. It has its reality…the rest of the world has a slightly different one. Stereotypes of southerners don’t help one adjust to life here very well unless you see “true” southerners as descended from the European aristocracy as they were. Not the typical northerners incorrect view that all, although some are; ignorant, inbreeders. Same as some New Yorkers. Good luck

Leave a Reply

