Back in class

First, I apologize for my tardiness in updating my blog.

I have an excuse. (I give my reporters grief if they don’t keep their blogs fresh.) I hope I have a good excuse.

I’m teaching a class at the Savannah School of Art and Design. It’s a television production course where we focus on writing, shooting, editing, blocking etc.

It’s a blast. It’s a lot of fun but it’s work. We meet twice a week for 2.5 hours in the evening – five hours a week. That’s a lot f class time and it’s a lot of content to teach, review and discuss.

What’s the hardest part? Probably making sure your mind is totally open as you talk about how to produce content for so many different platforms – platforms we haven’t even thought of yet. My background is television. It’s my reference point. When I’m uncomfortable I might resort to how would “we do it” in TV. But no longer. That’s also what makes the class so invigorating.

I really enjoy the teaching. It’s a way to step back from our daily newsroom pressures and talk about how, why and what we do. We expose ourselves to the question of why we do it the way we do. The worst answer is we always “do it that way.”

I really enjoy the students. Their minds are open, clean and clear. They can be so expansive in their assignment ideas.

Example: This week’s assignment is to produce a testimonial about anyone, thing or product. They have to do interviews, location shoots and can add sound, music and graphics.

One student is doing a testimonial about tin cans. Yup, tin cans.

Another about the iPhone.

The third is about yoga and the fourth about a clothing brand.

All so different. No one is thinking strictly in the box.

We’re good as an industry about bringing in consultants, researchers and analysts to look at what we do, how we do it and why.

Wondering if maybe I should bring these students in for a day with my producers and managers and just spend hours listening to what they think we should be doing, what we should look like and what we need to do as we figure out the future.

Maybe next time I’ll post their assignments.

Leave a Reply

